Calgary Board of Education Douglas Harkness School
6203 - 24 Avenue N.E., Calgary AB T1Y 2C5 | Grades K-6 Modified Calendar
t | 403-777-6720  e | douglasharkness@cbe.ab.ca

 
 

The Weather Network

Check out Twitter to see all of the great learning that is happening here!

Admin Team

Ms. Devitt: for the school @DHarknessCBE

Mrs. Miller
Assistant Principal
@DHSMiller

Resource

Mrs. Billeck :
@DHSBilleck

mibilleck@cbe.ab.ca

EDC

Ms. Purdy
@DHSPurdy
rfpurdy@cbe.ab.ca

Kindergarten

Miss Cavanaugh:
@DHSCavanaugh

kacavanaugh@cbe.ab.ca

Grade 1/2

Ms. Dron:
@DHSDron
dpdron@cbe.ab.ca

Miss Engelman: @DHSEngelman
mdengelman@cbe.ab.ca

Ms. LaBerge
@DHSLaBertge
relaberge@cbe.ab.ca

Ms. Shihab:
@DHSShihab

lishihab@cbe.ab.ca

Grade 3/4

Miss Garrah:
@DHSGarrah
pjgarrah@cbe.ab.ca

Ms. Paterson:
@DHSPaterson
atpaterson@cbe.ab.ca

Ms. Peterson
@DHSPeterson
mlpeterson@cbe.ab.ca

Grade 5/6

Ms. Araki
@DHSAraki
ayaraki@cbe.ab.ca

Mrs. Dhillon:
@DHSDhillon
avdhillon@cbe.ab.ca

Mr. Meuser
@DHSMeuser
crmeuser@cbe.ab.ca

Music

Mrs. Villman
@DHSVillman
sjvillman@cbe.ab.ca

ELL

Mrs. Bodley
@DHSBodley
anbodley@cbe.ab.ca

Physical Education

Jason Salter
@DHSSalter
jdsalter@cbe.ab.ca


Welcome to Douglas Harkness School

On behalf of the staff and students at Douglas Harkness School, welcome to Douglas Harkness School website. We welcome you to learn more about our school by viewing our Student and Parent Handbook
 
We update this website throughout the school year. It is our hope that you will visit frequently for current information about the exciting things that are happening in our school community.

 

Please be aware that our school uses Twitter to share daily events rather than student agenda books. If you wish to communicate with the teacher or the school about your child, please do so through the teacher's email link at the side of this page, or contact your child’s teacher at the school.

 

The Calgary Board of Education has a Student Code of Conduct that is adhered to in all of our schools. Please click here to read the Adminstrative Regulation.

 

Our school operates on a Modified Calendar. For more information about our school, please click on any of the items from the drop-down menus above.

October Events
December 7 Winter Giving Faire 6:15pm-8:00pm
December 8 Non-Instruction Day - No School
December 14 School Council Meeting - 6:30pm
December 21 Last Day of Classes
December 22 Non-Instruction Day - No School
December 25-January 12 Winter Break No School
January 15 Classes Resume
January 19 Report Cards go home
January 26 Non-Instruction Day - No School

 

Every Day Counts

The Calgary Board of Education believes there is a strong positive correlation between attendance and a student’s success in school. Regular attendance at school maximizes student learning, school attachment and the potential for high school completion. Early identification and communication of attendance concerns with students and families is critical.

  • The Alberta School Act section 13 and CBE Policy 6020 states:
        • An individual who at September 1 in a year is 6 years of age or older, and is younger than 16 years of age shall attend school.
        • ​A school board shall make all reasonable efforts to ensure that a student who is enrolled in a school attends regularly and punctually.
  • It is the responsibility of parents/guardians to ensure compliance with this requirement and the responsibility of schools to ensure parents/guardians are informed promptly when the attendance of students is not satisfactory. 
  • Absenteeism is an indicator of other problems, and should be treated as a symptom. When students are not in school we need to understand why they stay away before we can generate solutions.
  • When a student feels attached to school through a web of relationships with other students, teachers, or a caring adult, it can help overcome many of the causes of absenteeism (Jenkins, 1995).
  • Attendance Tips for Parents (pdf)

Calendars & School times for 2017-2018
Hours for Grade 1 - 6 - Click here for calendar
Days Hours
Monday - Thursday 8:30 AM - 12:00 PM
  12:55 PM - 3:25 PM
Friday 8:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Hours for Kindergarten - Click here for calendar
Monday - Thursday 8:30 AM - 11:35 AM 12:35 - 3:25
Friday Alternating weeks - 8:30 AM - 12:00
Hours for Early Development Center -Click here for calendar
Monday - Thursday 8:30 AM - 11:35 AM 12:20 - 3:25
Friday NO CLASSES FOR EDC ON FRIDAY
News items

UPDATES FROM THE CBE

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please click to view the CBE Leadership Link for December.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

School Council -

  • Next Meeting: Oct. 18 at 6:30 PM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

CHECK US OUT ON TWITTER - @DHarknessCBE

 

Please note that we have been tweeting using the hashtag #DHSCBE. Please check there to see what all our us are tweeting.

 

Don't Miss Out on School Messages

 

Parents/guardians: Due to Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL), if you want to keep receiving electronic messages from our school on commercial topics such as student fees and field trip costs, you need to subscribe online.

In addition, if you want to receive any text messages from our school, you need to opt-in by texting the word YES to the six-digit number 724665.

 

CBE News

 


My School Bus Monitor

comprehensive school health