Calgary Board of Education Douglas Harkness School
6203 - 24 Avenue N.E., Calgary AB T1Y 2C5 | Grades K-6 Modified Calendar
t | 403-777-6720  e | douglasharkness@cbe.ab.ca

 
 

The Weather Network

Check out Twitter to see all of the great learning that is happening here!

Admin Team

Ms. Devitt: for the school @DHarknessCBE

Mrs. Miller
Assistant Principal
@DHSMiller

Resource

Mrs. Billeck :
@DHSBilleck

mibilleck@cbe.ab.ca

EDC

Ms. Purdy
@DHSPurdy
rfpurdy@cbe.ab.ca

Kindergarten

Miss Cavanaugh:
@DHSCavanaugh

kacavanaugh@cbe.ab.ca

Grade 1/2

Ms. Dron:
@DHSDron
dpdron@cbe.ab.ca

Miss Engelman: @DHSEngelman
mdengelman@cbe.ab.ca

Ms. LaBerge
@DHSLaBertge
relaberge@cbe.ab.ca

Ms. Shihab:
@DHSShihab

lishihab@cbe.ab.ca

Grade 3/4

Miss Garrah:
@DHSGarrah
pjgarrah@cbe.ab.ca

Ms. Paterson:
@DHSPaterson
atpaterson@cbe.ab.ca

Ms. Peterson
@DHSPeterson
mlpeterson@cbe.ab.ca

Grade 5/6

Ms. Araki
ayaraki@cbe.ab.ca

Mrs. Dhillon:
@DHSDhillon
avdhillon@cbe.ab.ca

Mr. Meuser
crmeuser@cbe.ab.ca

Music

Mrs. Villman: @DHSVillman
sjvillman@cbe.ab.ca

ELL / Physical Education

Mrs. Bodley: @DHSBodley
anbodley@cbe.ab.ca


Welcome to Douglas Harkness School

On behalf of the staff and students at Douglas Harkness School, welcome to Douglas Harkness School website. We welcome you to learn more about our school by viewing our Student and Parent Handbook
 
We update this website throughout the school year. It is our hope that you will visit frequently for current information about the exciting things that are happening in our school community.

 

Please be aware that our school uses Twitter to share daily events rather than student agenda books. If you wish to communicate with the teacher or the school about your child, please do so through the teacher's email link at the side of this page, or contact your child’s teacher at the school.

 

The Calgary Board of Education has a Student Code of Conduct that is adhered to in all of our schools. Please click here to read the Adminstrative Regulation.

 

Our school operates on a Modified Calendar. For more information about our school, please click on any of the items from the drop-down menus above.

October Events

Date Description

Oct. 94

Thanksgiving - No School

Oct. 10-13

Fall Break - No School

Oct. 16 Non-Instruction Day - No School
Oct. 17 Students Return to School
Oct. 18 School Council Meeting 6:30 PM
Oct. 25 Photo Retake Day
Oct. 31 Halloween
 
Letter from Laura Devitt, Principal

Hello to all Douglas Harkness School Families,

 

My name is Laura Devitt and I am the newly appointed Principal at Douglas Harkness School. I feel honoured and excited to be part of this dynamic and vibrant learning community. I have heard many wonderful things about the students, staff, and parent community at Douglas Harkness School.

 

Continue Reading (pdf)

Calendars & School times for 2017-2018
Hours for Grade 1 - 6 - Click here for calendar
Days Hours
Monday - Thursday 8:30 AM - 12:00 PM
  12:55 PM - 3:25 PM
Friday 8:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Hours for Kindergarten - Click here for calendar
Monday - Thursday 8:30 AM - 11:35 AM 12:35 - 3:25
Friday Alternating weeks - 8:30 AM - 12:00
Hours for Early Development Center -Click here for calendar
Monday - Thursday 8:30 AM - 11:35 AM 12:20 - 3:25
Friday NO CLASSES FOR EDC ON FRIDAY
News items

UPDATES FROM THE CBE

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please click to view the CBE Leadership Link for September.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

School Council -

  • Next Meeting: Oct. 18 at 6:30 PM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

CHECK US OUT ON TWITTER - @DHarknessCBE

 

Please note that we have been tweeting using the hashtag #DHSCBE. Please check there to see what all our us are tweeting.

 

Don't Miss Out on School Messages

 

Parents/guardians: Due to Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL), if you want to keep receiving electronic messages from our school on commercial topics such as student fees and field trip costs, you need to subscribe online.

In addition, if you want to receive any text messages from our school, you need to opt-in by texting the word YES to the six-digit number 724665.

 

CBE News

 


My School Bus Monitor

comprehensive school health