Calgary Board of Education

School Council

Statement of purpose

John G. Diefenbaker School Council exists to influence students to be confident lifelong learners and contributing members of their communities. We are committed to active participation in a partnership of students, parents, teachers and community to promote the goals and values centered in the teaching/learning environment

Co-host Parents as Partners Meetings
Sponsor Student of the Term Watch Awards
Coordinate "Casino" Fundraisers

Note: The officers of the School Council are synonymous with those of the JGD Chiefs Parents Association.


Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of the month at 6:30 p.m. in the learning commons. All parents, students, staff and community members are welcome to attend and to add your voice to the conversation.

School Council 2018-2019 Executive

Chair: Kathy Rwamuningi
Vice Chair: Anita Gee
Treasurer: Ellen Leong
Casino Chair: Amanda Trudel
Secretary: Amanda Trudel
Volunteer/Alumni: Mimi Mah & Tracee Fraser Key Communicators: Elaine Cohen & Robert Brooks

Parent Association 2017-2018 Executive

Chair | Anita Gee
Vice Chair | Mimi Mah
Secretary | Amanda Trudel
Treasurer | Michael Sandercock
Casino Chair |Amanda Trudel

If you are unable to attend meetings and have a question for our school council, would like to provide feedback, or suggest an initiative please email .

School Council and Parent Association Initiatives